Wednesday, 30 July 2014

Getting to know me:

Hello and welcome to my blog. I'm Dictiocanary or well, actually Kat Pachniuk. I am more flattered than I can say that you're here :)

I'm guessing you know me from IG so you might know some things about me. Like I live in Copenhagen, Denmark, have a boyfriend and two cats and a wardrobe that could clothe a small village (stressing small as I'm 4'11"). I recently graduated university and can call myself cand.scient.bibl. but I usually go by unemployed as I'm now in search of a job. I can be anything from a librarian to a PR professionel to community manager (so yes, you can totally hire me ;) )

Well, I'll tell you how I got here and a bit about my background:

I am (very soon to be) 30 years old. My parents are happily divorced and have been since I was 2. My mom is Danish and my father half Polish, half Ukrainian. My father grew up in England (long story and it involves WWII deportations, rather goulish family history but with a happy ending) so I feel more connected to the UK than to Eastern Europe where I've never been or speak the language.

I grew up in the country side in the North of Jutland with 2 miles to the nearest (small) town and spent most of my childhood climbing trees and catching frogs, mice and reptiles who would probably much rather have continued their woodland life in peace. Most were released without a scratch though. I grew up with a myriad of animals, we've had horses, geese, rabbits, a pet cow, a few sheep, chickens, dogs and obviously a bunch of cats. I have always loved animals and still do.

The other part of my sparetime was spent in my local library. I started reading Stephen King when I was 10 and I was a horror addict ever since. Not the best decision when you live in a huge farm house in the middle of the woods, I can tell you that ;) The next genres I threw myself at was sci-fi and fantasy. My dad was my enabler and he has never denied me a book I wanted. I love him for that.

All this lead me to my current state that is obsessing when it comes to (deep breath) Dr.Who, favourite writers and books, Stephen Fry (oh I adore Stephen Fry), science, reason, logic, books, movies, TV series, social media, communication, cats, animals....and of course dresses. I think the reason it took me so long to decide on an education (I was 25) was that I have way too many interrests. I wanted to be a vet, a nutritionist, a biologist, a writer, a professor of religion science, I wanted to study English litterature and computer science at the same time... So in the end I became a librarian. I might not be master of all of those trades but I can browse them all and I like that. I love that.

My flakiness in interrests also reflects in my style. I cannot commit to an era or a style completely. First of all because if I see a novelty print I like I must have it almost regardless of the style of the dress, and second because I don't want to. I want to wear everything (trousers excluded, don't care for them. Having short legs and wide hips and thighs, nah not a good look).

So that's me. Hope you stick around. I'll be posting lots of pictures. Mostly of me. And my cats probably (I'm not gonna lie, that's a possibility ^.^)

See you around!